over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Need Some Serious Advice On Increasing My Lifts

NickEdge779

Newbies
I am very confused about my strength and mass gaining progression.

I started lifting 3 years ago at 5 ft 8 135 lbs.

My stats on my very first few weeks in the gym were probably:

Squat 115x5
Bench 95x5
Deadlift 115x5

Within 6 months, I had gotten my lifts up to:

Squat 225x5
Bench 135x5
Deadlift 245x5

at about 145 lbs bodyweight. I was only 17 years old.

Now, 3 years later, I am 170 lbs, have much more muscle, yet my lifts have all decreased and I am fatigued after squatting 145 for reps. I'm basically squatting the same weight correlated to my bodyweight as what I did when I was completely untrained and had never even been to a gym before at 135 lbs, yet my legs are much bigger now.

Squat 145x8-12
Bench 145x8-12
Deadlift - Idk, haven't deadlifted in a year

It makes literally ZERO sense. My strength has decreased dramatically, yet I'm way more muscular than when I was a pure newbie. I train the exact same way for the most part too. Maybe I have a medical issue or low testosterone?

Last edited:
If you want to get strong stop doing reps! On your core lifts do 5 reps or less. I can almost assure you your strength will increase if you do that.

Getting bigger and stronger do go somewhat hand in hand; but your CNS is what really makes you strong!

What does your diet look like?

Bottom line we need more information. What kind of training split are you doing, what does your diet look like etc.. Are you training for strength specifically, or do you do you just use it as a metric to keep track of your progress? I have a background in powerlifting so with a little more information I may be able to give you some advice.

What does your diet look like?

This!!! The only reason your lifts will continue to increase is if your body has enough calories, and protein to work with.