over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Pension Options

readyset

Kilo Klub Member
Registered
Hey all,

First - thank you for taking the time to answer this very simple question, but I am new to almost all aspects of finance, save for checking and savings accounts :)

Anyway - I recently got a new job, my first "real" teaching job in NJ - and I need to set up my pension. I've asked other teachers for advice, but most can't tell my WHY they chose what they did, other than "my husband/wife/friend has it." So I guess I'm looking for a little more clarity.

I have the choice between a 403b and a 457b. So.. which to choose and why? or is there not really a difference? I understand that a 403b has a penalty for withdrawing before retirement and a 457 does not, but that's pretty much where my knowledge ends. I've read through some of the literature but again - I've very new to this and not sure what I should be looking for.

The school is STATE run, if that makes any difference. Most schools are not, but the one I'm in has had such bad performance that the state had to "step in" a few years ago.

Also, I have a choice of several different Financial companies - Most of the people in my district tend to go with Axa or Valic - Does anyone have any suggestions on that?

Again, thank you for time with this but I guess I just need someone to lay it out for me with out the sales pitch.

Thanks guys

edit: I should have mentioned I'm 26 and single, no kids, no mortgage. Just a car lease, rent and bills.

Last edited:
l'd say ...NEITHER save your money...invest in Gold. DO NOT buy into any pension plan.

WHY?

BUY THIS BOOK: Retirement Heist: How Companies Plunder and Profit from the Nest Eggs of American Workers (Amazon.com)
by: Ellen E. Schultz

I appreciate the input. I was actually going to look into gold investment on top of a pension.

So, pensions are really that much of a screw huh? Even if someone is as financially simple as myself?