over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Finally decided on my first meet!

jdoisjohnny

Registered
So short notice I decided to compete in a meet 62days from now and I have some questions for experienced powerlifters who have peaked for meets.

Okay, question one I am in the middle of a training phase of the juggernaut method and I know everyone peaks differently, but i'm only in the first half of the program and haven't handled anything about 80% of my "working max" i know some of the strongest guys don't work with more than that till their meets my psychologically I would like to handle a little more weight before I compete. I also have gathered that most back off 2-3 weeks before their meet and don't handle much weight before. Correct me if i'm wrong. I would just like to know if I should continue on with my program and then just go compete since it is my first time or should I do something to peak. Tell me how you guys peak?

Question two I'm between weight classes i'm about 205-210 I want to compete at 198, but it would be easier to just go up to 220 and not worry about making weight? I would do really well at 198 if I could maintain my strength while getting down there or again is this something that I shouldnt worry about at my first meet?

over all I just want to hear about your guys experiences i'm very excited and nervous and want to do my best, but not sure how to since I don't even know what it will be like

Since its your first meet I would take your planned openers about a week out from your meet then rest until meet day.

Your opener should be something you've hit for 3 even on a bad day.

As far as weight goes, if you're kind of out of shape just clean up your diet a bit and see what happens.

I would not recommend trying to consciously cut weight or do any kind of water manipulation for your first meet.

Good luck.