advertise1
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

3-Day Splits better for advanced naturals?

AVelasques911

Registered
I've been lifting for 15 years or so, I haven't been on gear in at least 6 years and am just on TRT..... at this point in my life, I'm not gaining any muscle when I go to the gym, my measurements haven't changed at all in the past 5 years I would say, though strength still keeps increasing at a decent pace.

Realistically, from here on out I'm essentially maintaining my physique and trying to still get stronger, though at a slower pace than when I was younger.

I know the twice a week per body part is pretty popular at the moment but any more seasoned guys that are either natural or on minimal gear tried training just a 3 day per week P/P/L type split? I toyed with it this past year and it feels really weird being in the gym a lot less but honestly, I don't think I notice a real difference in my body than when I was going a 6 day P/P/L.... I feel like I'm topped out and short of jumping back on gear (never say never) or competing, am I just wasting time training twice as much? The only guy I know who is a huge advocate of this is Dave Goodin (and I think Skip?).

Good post! I am in the same boat. Been lifting since the mid 90's and have not used anything in 10 years. 38 and will consider HRT when I turn 40. I lift EOD in my garage. A rotation of upper and lower similar to D.C. Two way split and I toss in loaded carries at the end. Zerchers or farmer walks. Nothing crazy heavy and rather go the distance. Btw the best trap builders imho. Could only imagine if I was using gear and doing those EOD, lol. Lifting anymore is about stress relief here. Go in the garage, crank some music, chalk the hands up and do some basic lifting. Reps/volume vary depending on mood but the format of upper and lower rotation has been my go to over the past few years. Hitting each region every 4-5 days.

Last edited: