over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Any camera gurus here?

Landmonster

Registered
This is slightly off topic, but probably relevant to many of us.

I'm in the market for a really high quality camera (for videos and still shots), that needs to be somewhat portable.

I've always known those huge DSLR cameras took amazing shots, but I've been resistant to dropping $1k on of them, and the idea of lugging around a giant camera bag is not very appealing. (even less so on a trip, where it might be a theft-target)

I'm not a pro photographer. This would be for vacations (like a beach, cruise ship etc), or in the gym, or general photo taking.

Is it worth buying a stand-alone camera these days over a high quality cell phone camera? (i.e., top end Galaxy or iPhone?)

I bought a middle of the road Nikon at Target for about $350 that has a nice lens on it. It isn't high end or anything near but it takes pictures a lot better than any phone on the market. There is no comparison. It also takes nice 1080 HD video too. I took it on vacation to Florida and was really happy with the footage and pictures I took. Easy to use for an idiot like me. It has a lot of features I don't use. I just point and shoot on auto. Buying something like that would be a good idea for you I think since it has features you can grow into and use later if you get more into photography. Mine has a lens that is fixed on it, but they sell some for about $100 more that have removable lenses so you can put other types on there. Not sure how much youre looking for.

So Im not knowledgeable about photography but thought you might like to hear my satisfaction of using a fairly simple and inexpensive Nikon camera. It is fairly large though and you will need to carry it in a bag.

Alfresco

Alfresco is one of our expert photographers on here. He takes awesome shots. Maybe he will chime in!