YMSGIF210x65-Banner
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Training days per week for 40+ year old. This article made me think about it.

xpoc

Registered

I have been lifting steady since 1984 and I "think" I have a good idea of what works for ME. But, I sometimes find articles that make me rethink things. When I decided to focus on hypertrophy over powerlifting years ago, I got great results using a P/P/L split 6x per week. Lower volume each workout, but I hit all bodyparts 2x per week. It worked and I don't think I every truly "overtrained." I made visible gains (15 lbs of muscle from age 43-48). Since then I have stagnated.

But, I always wondered "what if." A few months ago I switched to Fortitude and I really like it. It is 4x per week which is TWO less days per week than I am accustomed to. But I have not noticed any significant size or strength gains over my 6x per week program. Nor have I noticed any regression. Kind of status quo. Mentally I like the muscle rounds and stuff like that so that is a big benefit. But when it comes to actual results, I am flatlined. At my age, early 50's....perhaps I have reached my genetic limit *507-190 about 12-14% bodyfat and just a TRT guy.

BUT....I wonder, COULD I get bigger lifting less frequently? Like even 3x per week or every other day as the article suggests. Just because I can lift more frequently, does that mean I should? Would it be more optimal to train 3-4x per week rather than 5-6 times? Even if I am not overtrained, would I actually grow more?

Here is the paragraph from the article that caught my eye:

"An older lifter will progress more on a one-day-on, one-day-off schedule, or using three workouts per week, than he will with 5-7 workouts per week.