advertise1
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Any help With Brazilian Jiu Jitsu training? (Bjj)

While I'm sure he thanks everybody for this open discussion on kicking ass... :banghead:

Did anybody realize he didn't ask for opinions on Krav Maga and who's ghetto is cooler?

I've been doing BJJ since 2009. I go between 2 and 6 times per week in addition to my bodybuilding training. I have national level size in bodybuilding and I've competed in some small grappling tournaments for fun.
Here's what I've learned...

1) You need cardio, and then some more cardio.

2) You don't need to change your training style to some magic BJJ routine. Are you strong? Great. Do you want to stay the same size? If so, condition your body to adapt to the 5-10 minute rolling sessions. If you can roll for 30-60 minutes non-stop, your cardio is fine.

3) Flexibility is natural to me, so I do no stretching. If this is NOT natural to you, you NEED to start stretching. You'll never have a good guard game OR a balanced top game if you aren't flexible.

4) If you work your guard for months on end, you won't have to directly work your core as much. The more time I spend on my back, the easier it gets to hip bump, scissor sweep, armbar from guard, etc.

5) Roll with smaller guys as much as you can. It will develop your speed. You WON'T be faster than them, but training with them will help you keep up. If you go up against a guy your size, you quickly realize how fast you drilled yourself to become.

6) Roll with weaker guys. NEVER use your strength. Why? When somebody intelligent realizes you're sloppy, they'll cook you to death (work you till you fatigue, and slap on a triangle with their technique)... Or you'll be off technique wise and either A) get caught... or B) You'll have a sub, dominant position, and wonder "How the hell!?" did this little guy escape so easily?