over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Bench dips

qbkilla

Kilo Klub Member
Registered
Wondering why more people don't do these for tris as opposed to parallel bar which target the chest more. I feel like bench dips really hit the back part of the tricep aka long head which is what most people neglect. A guy at the gym with a skinny frame but great Tris swears by then, he says he does 100 a day using the grease the groove method aka just get them in, doesn't have to be while at the gym. Obvious cons are shoulder health and it's hard to overload them. I feel like when I started lifting I'd see people doing them now it's 100% bar dips. One dip machine at my gym you kind of push back vs straight down and I definitely feel a better triceps contraction. I've also seen people push down behind their body on the leg pads of the assisted chin and dip machine to simulate the movement.

If you workout alone it’s hard to add weight… and like you said shoulder issues. But it’s a great movement

I guess because there are a gazillion ways of hitting your triceps. Like you said, overloading on it sucks unless you have a training partner. You take up 2 benches which sucks as well in a crowded gym. Once you get strong I can imagine it hurting the shoulders quite bad unless you do light weight and hit I dunno, 50 reps or so.

As you can see I don't do them either haha. I love chest dips between the parallel bars tho. Since getting relatively strong on them my chest and triceps grow nicely as well.

Both kill my shoulders now but bench dips make them hurt worse. If that wasn’t the case I’d utilize them.

Cage

Blew my right tricep out doing those. 4 plates on my lap. Complete re-attachment surgery for one...and PRP for the other. No thanks!

Bench dips are a great old school exercise you rarely see anymore. I used to work up to 70-80kg on them, but I like them as a high rep finisher with 20kg these days.