over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Best split for men's physique

jrock00123

Registered
I decided to do my first show next year. Given my current size and genetics I think men's physique is my best bet. I've been training for many years and currently have have a solid (but small) foundation. 6 ft, 181lb, approx 13%. Shelby is handling nutrition and cardio programming so no issues there.

For the last three months I've been using Fortitude Training. I'm making steady progress, but I'm considering switching to a high volume split for the next 10 weeks to complement a new AAS cycle. After that I'd move back to FT.

I'm looking for input from physique competitors. What does your split look like? I'm looking to create a routine that emphasises physique. It seems that delts, abs, and lats are the drivers in this category. Here's what I'm thinking:

Mon: Shoulders / Abs
Tues: Back / Biceps
Wed: Legs (extra calf work)
Thr: Chest / Triceps
Fri: Shoulders / Abs (30+ rep range)
Sat: Back / Biceps (30+ rep range)
Sun: Off

I guess anyone should know where you are at right now regarding symmetry and proportions before trying to suggest a split.

I don't think you are going to get any groundbreaking responses as a Men's Physique split is going to be be identical to a BBer's split probably.

I don't see how Fortitude training wouldn't work with your physique goals either.
I do like the idea of toggling between a traditional high volume approach and something like Fortitude though.

I think something like Fortitude for 6 weeks then 6 weeks of a Mountaindog program would work extremely well.

Last week's progress photos attached. Please forgive the lack of posing technique.

Attachments

• 2016-04-30 09.54.55 - 2.jpg
    2016-04-30 09.54.55 - 2.jpg
    290 KB · Views: 429
  • 2016-04-30 09.55.08.jpg
    2016-04-30 09.55.08.jpg
    289.6 KB · Views: 415
well thank god you don't have to pose in mens physique...

:eek: