advertise1
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Best way to avoid glutes while doing legs?

VNV

Registered
My glutes are huge. They're completely overdeveloped. They always have been, even when I started lifting. Because of this, I feel like my legs don't get hit as hard as they could; my glutes do so much of the work.

What's the best way to workout legs, with the least amount of emphasis on the glutes? I'd like to involve my glutes as little as possible when doing legs. How can I do this?

Pre-exhaust with extensions.
Squats, hack squats, leg presses in the top ROM.

Glutes activate in deeper ROM. Also, narrower stances over wide stances.

Sissy squats.

Check out John Meadows and Tom Platz doing hacks on YouTube.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

leg extensions...........all others use the glutes to assist in the movement.

I have the exact same issue. I removed deadlifts. Started squaring at top / middle ROM with accommodating bands (more resistance at top), lots of leg extensions. This has worked nicely so far. My quads are growing and glutes are still just fine.

keep your weight towards the toe for more quad stimulation on squatting movements.

Do NOT keep your weight towards your toe unless you're doing very specific movements (sissy hacks). That's just asking for knee issues.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

don't have long legs:D
-JS

As mentioned above, i'd also prioritize front squats or back squats. If you are going to do any back squatting switch to high bar Olympic style squats, this will keep your trunk more upright and you'll have less glute and hamstring activation. Looking into actually weightlifting shoes with a heel would be very helpful as well. Tom Platz used to use these :)

I had this problem. I fixed it. Try this out:

-Leg Extension
-Leg Press

If you want to keep squats in your program, do it while pre-exhausted from 1-2 exercises(as people already suggested).