over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Bigger Abs?

pt923

Registered
I've been competing for 3 years. My off season weight is around 230-240 lbs. and I will probably diet down to 205 lbs. this year. I can usually get pretty ripped and dry and get my waist pretty small, but one of the problems I seem to have is my abs won't really stick out. I can get down to seeing my 8 abs, but their just flat with no real size. I don't really think this is a carbing up/filling out thing because all throughout my diet they never seem to really stick out. I've tried doing weighted ab exercises and tried high rep exercises and just can't seem to find anything to work. It may just be a genetic thing or you guys may think it IS a filling out thing:confused:, but if you guys could give me some feedback or suggestions I would appriciate it. Or if someone has had a similar situation let me know. thanks. btw, my diet consist of 6 meal a day(every three hours) about 300g protein, 250g carbs, and low fat. Monday and Tuesday before show is 0 carb and start gradually carbing up wednesday, cut water friday night at 6-8:00.

Last edited:
Some guys don't have good abs, because of genetics. I for one have that problem. Try using weights, training 6-8 sets 3 times a week.

Thanks for the reply. Is that to failure on 6-8 reps?

A kneeling rope crunches or decline weighted cruches are great for building thicker abs. Like pesty4077 says 6-8 sets 3 times a week. As for reps and poundages, mix it up bro.

Last edited:
I used to have small abs, then when I lost weight, I went crazy with ab/core exercise 6 days a week. I did that for about a year and a half up until 4 weeks ago. During that time on gh and low dose gear. Well, now they are too big, and when I am wearing a shirt it almost looks like a gut. Now, I am doing abs just once a week hoping that my ab size will go down.