over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Boise Experiment

AJW91

Registered
Anyone else see this? Boise Experiment - Heavy Duty Ultimate Body Transformation.

This guy "Andy" bulks up to 202lbs at 14.2% bodyfat, up from 177lbs at 13.8% bodyfat training once every four days on Mike Mentzer's "Heavy Duty 2" split. His arm size increased 2.25 inches... and this was all in 60 days.

I've always been more of an oldschool HIT guy; I never thought that Mike Mentzer's stuff was really workable, but these guys seem to prove otherwise.

What do you all think?

I feel like the fact they are going to failure on everything would not be beneficial for muscle growth but then again I'm still learning.

This would be very nice if it is as effective as they say for a college student or someone else with a busy life.

I feel like the fact they are going to failure on everything would not be beneficial for muscle growth but then again I'm still learning.

This would be very nice if it is as effective as they say for a college student or someone else with a busy life.

Well, I would definitely say that going to failure is necessary for maximal stimulus... After all, if you're not going to failure, then you're not properly stimulating the fast-twitch muscle fibers which offer the most potential growth.

That said, I think the whole working one bodypart once every 8-16 days seems extreme... Personally, I've never gone more than 4 days without training a particular bodypart (lay-offs not included). It seems counterintuitive, especially considering the science regarding training frequency and muscle protein synthesis.

While HIT has worked for a lot of people, I don't care for it. I have tried Mentzer's, Darden's, and an ACSM version my Kniesiology professor liked. I think for maintaining it can be wonderful, as he has kept virtually all his size and strength while slowly building his GPP, but I never gained half as quickly as with a powerbuilding or DC system.