over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

DEFY THE MEATHEAD STEREOTYPE!!

method2madness

Registered
As a cyber-community of bodybuilders and those involved in the sport and/or the lifestyle we are often seen as the stereotypical "meathead". What qualities do you have that defy this stereotype and the assumptions that go along with it?

Rarely is the word "bro" used in a conversation.
Don't talk about lifting and/or diet all the time.
Don't stare at myself in the mirror (in public haha)

I lift things up and put them down

I am a medical professional..
I don't tell anybody I know irl that I lift. Nor do I talk about it unless they ask.
I only spend <4 hrs a week in the gym
Got no irl friends except maybe 2 that lift

I think that as long as you don't TRY to make it an issue it wont be. Do your job with professionalism and go about your day like a normal person. Guys that talk constantly about how much protein they need - or what they cant eat or that they cant miss a meal come across like douche bags. I think that many guys WANT to be noticed as a bodybuilder and desire that attention desperately. You know who you are and you are tools.. I want to be the best in my profession - which has nothing to do with bodybuilding or the gym - so that's 100% my focus during the work day. Will people notice that I look different - of course - and I do get a lot of questions or comments. I just don't make an issue out of them and down play it. I don't like talking about bodybuilding AT ALL while I am at work. If I am meeting a new business associate or client - and they are into the gym or show an interest then of course I will talk but that just good sales :D
It seems to be the guys that are newer to the sport that make it a big deal. Sometimes the very insecure will do that as well. I think its a major misconception that all bodybuilders are insecure. I was confident as a 165 Marine and I am no more or less confident now.