over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Donating Blood? Is it right?

triathloncoach

Featured Member / Kilo Klub / Board Supporter
Featured Member
Board Supporter
Is it even remotely ethical to be on underground AAS or even Rx AAS and donate blood? I was reading that this is a strategy to lower hematocrit. I'm not a doctor, but speaking for myself I don't think I should be putting my blood into the public supply.

I would also be concerned that if you ever were caught donating blood while on AAS, you could be seriously prosecuted. How you gonna get caught? Your ex-girlfriend/friend turns you in.

They take at least 6 extra vials and run it through a gamut of tests. If they find anything harmful to the general population, its tossed. So your conscience is clear :)

This is an interesting question. During a pre-donation screening, they typically do ask about injection drug use. Although they are trying to weed out intravenous drug users, some of the same risks would apply to IM anabolic users that were to hypothetically share needles (although I haven't heard of bodybuilders sharing needles since the early 80s). I would have to defer to a lawyer regarding the legal ramifications of falsifying a pre-donation history regarding risk factors, etc., but from an ethical perspective your point is a valid one. The current screening would catch most pathogens, but might not detect elevations in certain types of heavy metals that are more prevalent in underground gear. In the end, I think it is just a personal decision as to the appropriateness of donating. If you feel you are personally putting the public at risk, then you should not donate. If you feel that you are not putting anyone at risk because your lifestyle is extremely healthy (which is the vast majority of bodybuilders) and you want your blood to go to good use, then you should feel free to donate.

Is it even remotely ethical to be on underground AAS or even Rx AAS and donate blood?