advertise1
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

each body part once a week better for optimum growth?

buresu

Registered
I always thought that working out each muscle group once a week wouldn't be enough for max. growth results, I've been working each muscle group twice a week for more than 3 years continously...I'm thinking now to change that routine to once a week. I know everybody will react different, recovery is the main key...but what are your thoughts about it, have you changed your training program to once a week and seen better results?

I always thought that working out each muscle group once a week wouldn't be enough for max. growth results, I've been working each muscle group twice a week for more than 3 years continously...I'm thinking now to change that routine to once a week. I know everybody will react different, recovery is the main key...but what are your thoughts about it, have you changed your training program to once a week and seen better results?

This thread will probably get moved to beginner section, but here's my thoughts. Change it up. Go to once a week for a few months and get stronger, then go back to twice a week for growth. I believe the more often you work a muscle group, the more it will grow. Think about it, if you work your legs once a week, you train them 50x a year. If you do legs twice a week, you will have trained them 100x.

Keep the volume or intensity low enough to recover from training each body part 2x weekly and you will have twice the opportunity to grow. That is my thoughts on it anyway.
When I am training purely for strength, such as 5/3/1, I go back to each body part 1x weekly.

I train each muscle group once a week most of the time. However, every 4 months out of the year, I switch to DC training. Keeps things interesting for me. I maintain what I have now, but in the past, I would grow training both ways.