over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Going to start the 5X5 routine &....

AP13

Registered
Going to start the 5X5 routine and was wondering what the board experts thought about incorporating power cleans into a PL routine. Would I do these on the same day as DLs? Alternate leading off back days with DLs and then doing PCs one week and then PCs followed by DLs the next week?

Any thoughts appreciated.

BTW, I'm new to site and really enjoy all the great info.

power cleans have no purpose in power lifting......use the power rack for what ever your sticking points are....cleans are useless

I was a 220 ,242 and very close to a 275lb'er...

One of the older Bill Starr templates has power cleans added in. Try Googling it to see what you can come up with.

power cleans are a great addition, i just added them into mine as well as clean pulls. Clean pulls are great for teaching technique off the floor and being explosive... much much better than speed pulls. i think those are almost useless.

post up ur routine and ill help u add them in there.

Big Byrd........

Big Byrd,

Just the person I wanted to hear him. Here's what I'm thinking. I got it from another of your posts.

"i would suggest u follow a classic 5x5 routine for all three. 2 warmups followed by 3 heavy sets of 5 on compound movements. basic breakdown would be do that for 2 heavy compound exercises followed by 1 maybe 2 execises, 2-3 sets of bodybuilding style accessory work for higher reps in 12-15 range.

like, for chest, 5x5 on flat bench then 3x5 on incline bench then 2 sets db flyes inclined and 2 sets flat.

legs- samw with squat, followed by hack squats or leg press, then leg ext and leg curls

back, dl then bent rows, lat pulldowns, and seated rows."

I think I'll add an arm day and also add good mounrings to back day. What's your thoughts on adding PCs?

Thanks.