over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Heart Problems and bodybuilding/Testosterone

cshort01

Registered
I wanted to share what's going on with my health because I know several of you have had heart issues and others worry about it.

I'm 43, have been training since age 15. Normally range between 240 to 250lbs at 5' 11" and always stay fairly lean. I've been using AAS for about 20 years, never huge amounts but too much testosterone for sure. For the last 10 years I've been on 750mg/week of Enanthate most of the time plus 3-5iu/gh/day.

I was experiencing shortness of breath in the gym for the last couple years and thought it was asthma/allergies so was on inhalers and allergy meds. This didn't help so in January I had an echocardiogram done. I found I have diastolic dysfunction grade 2 (left ventricle walls are thickened and not filling properly) and cardiomyopathy (my ejection fraction is 40%, it should be 55 to 70%).

I haven't had high blood pressure or high heart rate and the odds are that the high Test levels combined with training for so long caused these conditions.

My cardiologist put me on 2 medications that will lower heart rate and BP and said he believes these meds, based on studies and experience, will get my ejection fraction back into normal range.

I am now working with an HRT doc and have my Test at normal physiologic levels and have stopped GH.

Doc said I should stop lifting completely until my ejection fraction is into normal range so I'm just walking on treadmill and doing pushups. He said the intrathoracic pressure from heavy lifting would make the condition worse.

I'm also using several supplements now that have shown heart benefits including:
Curcumin
D-ribose
Hawthorne berry
Ubiquinol
Magnesium
L-Carnitine
PQQ
Fish oil