over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

High School PE

TheGeneral

Registered
I'm a high school PE teacher and have been given access to the school weight room twice a week. Obviously, I want to focus more on weight training, flexibility, cardio etc..over team sports. Any ideas what to do with about 40 freshman boys in a small/medium sized weight room?

in footballl we would get 2 person to a station. Coach blew the whistle every 30 seconds. After you did the machine or whatever for 3 sets you would move to the next station.

Circuit training kinda...full body 3x a week.

Keep Jerry Sandusky faaaaaaar away

If you have the equpiment, just stick to basic SS material for high schoolers in PE. Bench, squat, dead lifts and rows. That 2-3 times a week and they should be good

Circuit training. 10 stations. Set up one weight that they can all safely do. Do 30 second rotations by your whistle. Teach them to use perfect form for each station, and keep doing reps until you blow your whistle. Groups of 4 so each student is lifting for 30 seconds with a 90 second break in between sets. Make sure the 3 students who are not doing their set for each group are giving positive reinforcement to each member of the group while performing their set. Make sure they know that safety comes first and teach them how to properly spot for safety. That's a total of 2 minutes per station for 10 station, or 20 minutes for the full circuit. Go through the full circuit twice.

This is what I did when teaching weight training to middle school students. It will work great for high school freshman as well. Let them free lift if there is any time left over in the period.