advertise1
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

How many years training before your 1st competition?

Sampson

Registered
Just wanted to know how long you trained for before stepping on stage. I know I havent been blessed with the genetics some of you freaks have, but am still thinking of doing my 1st competition early next year after 4 years training, 27 years old 220lbs, 6ft, 14%.

Just wanted to know how long you trained for before stepping on stage. I know I havent been blessed with the genetics some of you freaks have, but am still thinking of doing my 1st competition early next year after 4 years training, 27 years old 220lbs, 6ft, 14%.

I trained with weight for Track while in college then about a year after I got out of college I started training for my first bodybuiding contest and weighed in at a scale busting 147 lbs!!!

Well for me, I had been training since 14. But never had any aspirations to compete. It wasn't till I met my friend who was a pro BBer at the time that I decided to take up the challenge. He convinced me to compete. So after about 3 yrs hardcore training I stepped on stage and won my first show. I have never looked back since. But overall I had been steady training for at least fifteen yrs.

Eight years.

Five years of seeing how many things I could do with diet and training that were wrong, 2 years more of competitive powerlifting, then one year training more like a bodybuilder and learning about diet, but still lifting heavy.

Nice one

I boxed from the age of about 14 until I started lifting, and had old school trainers who advised me not to lift heavy weights because it will slow me down (that old bag) so its a bit of a late start and feels like im playing catch up!