over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

How to choose a workout with a physical job

GND123

Banned
Hi all

I work as a construction worker on job sites. I work regular hours 8-9 per day and walk 5+ miles a day, usually carrying 20-60 pounds of tools/equipment/etc) and turn wrenches most of the day and lift heavy pipes and use power tools and what not.

My problem is that while all of this is good exercise, none of it is particularly good for getting bigger. Then by the time I get home, Im usually pretty beat and struggle to get fired up to workout.

I guess my main questions are:

- How many additional calories would you recommend (I know you dont have much to work with, but I dont even really know a ballpark. 200?500? 1000?

- Before I took this job I was doing a upper/lower split 4 days a week. Should I still try to do this, or would you recommend a different workout program?

Thanks

I worked construction for years. It certainly required a lot more calories than a desk job. I needed about 4,000cals/day to SLOWLY add weight.......sitting around 210lbs.

I lifted 5 days a week, typical split. I'm not a volume guy, 9-12 sets, hit it hard and go home to eat and relax for a couple hours before bed and doing it all over again.

MaxOT.

1 muscle group per week (back/chest/legs/arms/delts).
6-9 total worksets.
4-6 reps per set.

u choose your workout and then you cut or add rep, series, rest , sleep etc .. you tailor ur training !!!!!

I was a Concrete Finisher for 18 years. I would train 3 times a week in the early AM before work (5:00 in the morning). Any other time of the day I was too beat to move any real weight.

Slam down as many calories as you can, keep emergency food in your truck in case of overtime, and keep protein bars etc in your cargo pockets so you can eat when the other guys are taking a smoke break.