over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

John Meadows on ROM (JM approved)

Bro

Banned
Most people already know how good partials are and their importance in training but I thought it would be good to read what John Meadows thinks. (not a long article, more of a mini article). Link to the origional: **broken link removed**

1/26/2013
Only Doing Full ROM Is Crazy!
JMSortRange_zps85def677.jpg
"Simple minds adopt rigid positions on almost everything, and the world of exercise seems to be a safe haven for lots of these simple minds.

For instance, ever since I started training, I've heard how full range of motion (ROM) is the only way to train — how if you're not training full ROM on every movement, you're somehow mentally and physically weak; that you should just pack it up and go home.

That's crapola.

The reality is that both full range and shortened range movements should be incorporated intelligently into your programs. In fact, using a shortened ROM on key exercises allows you to hammer the muscle in ways that simply aren't possible with full ROM. Before you make any judgments, let me show you what I mean.

Movement Dictates ROM

Exercises like a preacher curl aren't meant to be done with a full range of motion. There's just too much potential for a tear or major strain.

Similarly, I believe lowering the bar all the way to your chest on incline barbell presses is very hard on the rotators. I'd rather stop an inch or two short. Even squats come into play here. It's easy to lose the proper alignment of your lower back during a squat if you go too low for your level of flexibility.

But there's a lot more to shortened ROM than injury prevention.

Enhanced Mechanical Loading

Another reason to incorporate shortened ROM is to increase mechanical loading with time under tension.