over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Kids and Lifting

Whiteboy84

Registered
Interested to hear what everyone thinks a good age is to have your son start hitting that iron.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk

shoot...im no expert but id say when he starts getting some armpit hair.

interested in this as well, good Q...

My dad brought me to the gym when I was about 9 years old. I learned the fundamentals over the next several years. I was years ahead of everyone when I got to high school. Age doesn't really matter I guess. U can only lift so much when ur 9.

I work with a lot of youth and pretty much the cardinal rule is proper technique and instruction from there you increase weight. It is said to not max out such a 1rm at 9 10 11 but I benched 250 when I was 12 after starting at age 11. Each person is different and body structure is different, but the whole growth plate thing is BS unless you snap a femur your growth isn't going to be compromised by training

I started at 11. I've never actually seen a legitimate case study on children and resistance training stunting growth. I think it's another media pushed myth similar to "Steroids make your dick shrink". Which is laughable, I've seen world champion gymnast families get their children into hardcore gymnastics from 4 on up. I knew a national champion swimmer that had his 5 year old swim competitively and train 5-6 hours per day. I've seen world champion BJJ guys get there daughters into hardcore MMA training at 3-4 years old. Yet there is a negative thought process to getting kids involved in lifting. I don't get it, honestly get kids in the gym if that's your passion or watch them get addicted to playing WOW and Xboxlive, choice is yours.