over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Low Fat Diets

DIEZEL666

Registered
There was a post over on Mayhem that got me thinking. It was mentioned that in the 80's and early 90's everyone followed a moderate protein/high carb/low fat diet and people consistently hit their peaks and had awesome conditioning. Today more people use a higher fat approach and carb cycle and it seems to be more of a crapshoot come contest time.

What are some peoples opinions/experiences with this?

I certainly had an easier time with the 80's diet, but then again, I was much younger. The problem I had was staying full-looking towards the end of the diet.

Well, it also made me think. Carbs are protein sparing which could be why guys weren't boatloading the protein back then. They could get away with 1-1.5g of protein per lb because of the amount of carbs they ate.

I am no diet expert, BUT

When I diet, I take in a tad over 1 gram of protein per pound of LBM and make up the rest of the calories with carbs.

I'll gradually reduce them. and then cycle them.

This has definately worked the best for me. Scott Abel had this diet plan on his old website where he had alot of articles (cycle diet). Most of his clients come in very sharp for contests. I have it saved if you would like to have it Deizel. Whether I do other diets "incorrectly" remains to be said. But from personal experience, this works the best for me when i want to lose fat and it is simple to follow.

The only fat I would get is from Fish Oil Pills, or whatever fat is in fish or chicken. I also use alot of protein powder.

Last edited: