over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Lower back strengthening w/degenerative discs, etc

jcc80

Registered
Hey guys, I know there is no shortage here of guys with jacked up spines. I've been dealing with scoliosis, degenerative discs, a bit of stenosis, and my most recent CT scan revealed a couple of small fractures at L5/S1. They called them 'pars fractures', whatever that means.

Anyway, I gave up deadlifts, squats, pullthroughs, etc. That was hard for me to accept. Amazingly, I am not getting pain shooting down my leg or anything... yet.

What I'm noticing is that although I'm doing planks and other "safe" stuff for my core, I have an issue with my lumbar muscles getting really tight. I think it's because they're getting weak without my beloved deadlifts.

What kind of exercises have you guys found to keep your back strong without fucking up your spine worse than it already is?

My lower back is pretty jacked up, I've already had surgery on it before. I tend to avoid any strengthening exercises that put a lot of stress on my lower back. There are two that I tend to like, bodyweight glute kickbacks, I do them with both knees off the ground. Then we have hanging knee/leg raises. I adjust how straight my legs are depending on how my lower back is feeling.

i have spinabifida and defgenerative l4 l5... be careful, I can do light deads but it kills me, I can do SLDLS better.

lots of hyper extensions,. YOGA. Physical therapy!

and yes, watch for muscles and tendons over compensating and undercompensating

I developed a pelvic tilt from this, hip flexors are TIGHTER THAN HELL all the time, also from pinning 3cc in hips, scar tissue,
train everything individually and specifically

i have spinabifida and defgenerative l4 l5... be careful, I can do light deads but it kills me, I can do SLDLS better.

lots of hyper extensions,. YOGA. Physical therapy!

and yes, watch for muscles and tendons over compensating and undercompensating