advertise1
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

New Personal Training Job. Stupidity is Rampant.

BigBoyJ

Kilo Klub Member
Registered
I just started a new personal training job at a large gym chain in San Antonio. Now I don't claim to be the world's best trainer by any means. Hell, I may not even be in the top 3 :D , but I have been studying every aspect of fitness for about 16 years now. Physiology, kinesiology, biology, biomechanics, anatomy, endocrinology, nutrition, etc. In other words, I feel comfortable with my knowledge in regards to exercise, diet, etc.

Well, at this new job I started today, there was a period of a few hours when it was a little slow, so all the trainers were standing around talking. The men were your typical looking trainers....skinny, barely looked like they worked out, you know what I mean. Then there were the females. Two had huge asses and pot bellies. Then there was one girl who looked pretty good. Not what I'd call a fitness queen, but at least she wasn't fat.

Anyway, the converstation we had covered many subjects. I didn't talk too much, mostly I just listened. I was interested in what these "experts" had to say. Here's what I found out.

1. People should NEVER use ANY supplements because they will ruin your metabolism and if you get off of them, you won't ever be able to lose fat or build muscle again.

2. Whey protein and creatine are the same as taking steroids...they are all terrible for you and considered cheating.

3. A degree in sociology apparantly qualifies you as an expert in the field of exercise. (this is the only degree or certification one of the trainers holds)

4. Weight lifting has no place in fat loss. In fact, you should quit doing it when trying to lose fat and only do cardio.

5. Being 137 lbs at 5'7 is freakin' awesome because you can really see your abs.

6. Using stability balls is far superior to that "old fashioned" weight lifting equipment.