advertise1
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

SQUATS AND DEADLIFTS = Wider hips/waist??? Poll!

Squatting and Deadlifting causes a wider waists and hips

• YES

Votes: 114 46.9%
  • NO

Votes: 129 53.1%

• Total voters

tmuscle

Kilo Klub Member
YES OR NO???

ALSO, DETAILS AS TO WHY YOU THINK SO, BASED ON YOUR OWN EXPERIENCES...DO YOU NO LONGER DO THEM TO TRY AND STREAMLINE/TAKE IN THE WAISTLINE ETC...

AND FOR ALL THE NEWBIES OUT THERE WHO SQUAT/DL LESS THAN 2-2.5X BODYWEIGHT...PAY YOUR DUES AND IGNORE THIS THREAD

I will say my waist is the same size now as it was in 2007 and I've been squatting and deadlifting for the last 4 years.

Can I vote "don't care"? Are you going to not do squats and/or deads if the poll answer is yes it makes your waist bigger?

I am starting to believe that yes, to some degree, if you are genetically inclined to have large obliques when those muscles are stimulated then you WILL have a larger waistline when you squat and deadlift due to the activation of oblique and abdominal muscles to stabilize. If you are genetically inclined to have large glutes when you stimulate them via weight training, YES you will have a larger hip and ass.

HOWEVER, if it is in your genetics not to have a large oblique or glute then you are lucky my friend...If it ain't in your genetics to have large obliques or glutes then they won't enlarge to such a HUGE degree unless you try to target them directly. Just like people who are seeking the magic cure for a huge upper chest when they are lower pec dominant...you can blast the inclines as much as you want but in the end you will still be lower pec dominant...its just your genetics and you can't fight the hand of god my friend...

BUT, for those of you who have large oblique and glute muscles GENETICALLY, have you cut down your squatting and deadlifting????