over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Water Retention from Excess Sodium - Potassium Supplementation

sub7percent

Verified Customer
Registered
Verified Customer
Hi Guys - let me caveat that I have very little knowledge in the area of water weight manipulation. What I am trying to understand is how to reduce the bloat I get for a few days after having some high sodium meals. Correct me if I am wrong, but I understand supplementing with extra potassium can help this.

The question is, what do I supplement with? I see Potassium Gluconate tabs dosed at 99mg each, but compared to a banana or a bottle of coconut water that amount seems like nothing. Correct? Am I missing something here?

I have read that dandelion root helps with getting rid of water retention. Haven't yet tried it myself.

Potassium can help but don't take an excessive amount or else you risk nasty muscle cramps.

16oz of coconut water has 800mgs potassium

Yea I just picked up some low sodium v8. 6 servings each serving has 900mg potassium which is the cost of one serving of coconut water with 8-900mg in it. I love coconut water though I mix it with dextrose and vanilla whey post workout sometimes.

Anyway, question is also related to potassium gluconate supplementation and why it's dosed at 99mg per tab. Also if anyone has experience w this w respect to sodium induced water retention.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Shouldn't, as people who weight train and bodybuild, all of our meals have salt/sodium? If they do and should be you shouldn't be holding any extra fluid from extra sodium containing meals. Your body just flushes excess. So in your case you should be salting all meals (unless you have Bp issues) or our meals are higher calories too and you're not putting on extra water...it's extra fat.

Lots of water and lots of sodium all the time = you're not holding extra water