over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Westside for Football

Entity

Registered
Im a trainer and have a high school senior who plays linebacker for his school's team and is looking to continue with the sport in college. His coach has him training with old-school powerlifting methods (mon- squat, Wed- Bench, Fri- Dead,) 5 weeks of 5's, 3 weeks of 3's ect. ect. He in pretty good shape, and at 17 yrs old hes already been training 3 years although he wasnt familiar with several basic exercises (laterals, types of rows ect.) which I found puzzeling.
I met with him on wednsday and suggested that he adopt westside methods for the following reasons:
Hes currently not doing any speed work which would otherwse give him the sheer drive and raw power that is needed play his position. He's also doing the same lifts and exercises week in week out (which questions the credibility of his coach) so I figured max effort work would both take care of strength and CNS fatigue. I also set up a fairly extensive GPP training schedule with sled dragging, car pulling (like sled dragging but with a car) and stuff where he carries heavy things (in his hand, on his shoulders..whatever). And alot of his assistance work, which I would have him do using the modified repetition method, is aimed at strengthening the posterior chain and the core muscles on squat days. Assistance work on bench day would be essentially the same as always.