YMSGIF210x65-Banner
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

When should you stop doing bench presses because of safety concerns?

At 47, I have been benching for over 30 years. At 6'1" and 210lbs I can press 225 20 times. However, the max I lift is 275-285.
Your ability to continue to benefit from "the King" of chest exercises is directly related to muscle balance around the shoulder. I attribute my ability to continue benching to my emphasis on rotator cuff and rear delt balance, as well as antagonist training. I bench 1-2 times per month....5-6 sets, and then move to incline, flys, pullovers etc. I believe you have to keep your upper body balanced as a bodybuilder to continue benching. Unless you develop rotator cuff impingment, osteolysis of the distal clavicle, or have pre-existing shoulder injury/instability, I believe it is a very solid part of maintaining chest mass and development.

Flat bench press is a great exercise. Too many people are trying to join the bandwagon and say otherwise.

Being a past power lifter of 20 years i have had my own share of injury's .
Now my training is cycled ,i might only heavy bench for 3 months then the remaining months to other exercises.......
I like to use the barbell bench press in the middle of my chest routine,that way the ego can go out the door and the gains are better.

bench

I'm 60 years old and still flat barbell bench.I go lighter now and i go heavy by doing dumbell flat.Seems to be working i still look good, people can't believe how old i am

I'm 60 years old and still flat barbell bench.I go lighter now and i go heavy by doing dumbell flat.Seems to be working i still look good, people can't believe how old i am

Pix?