over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Workout Routine

blueboykennels

Newbies
Okay I just read Big A's Growth principles for beginners which was a great read and answered a lot of questions but didn't address my particular question. I've also searched this forum over 2 hours and really can't find a specific answer to my question, which I'm sure has been asked before and beat to death....maybe the reason I can't find an answer is because there is no real answer as everyone responds differently. I was talking to a friend of mine last night about how I've been working out for 2 years and although I've made some gains I still don't feel I'm as far along as I should be (I should mention I'm natural). He has been working out for over a decade and it shows he's much bigger than me. After talking about my routine he thinks thats the problem..... my current routine is as follows. 3 days a week, Monday, Wednesday and Friday....and also doing low intesity cardio on the off days (3 of the off days, Tues. Thurs, Sat.)

Monday- Chest and Triceps....5 exercises per muscle group 3 sets of 10 per exercise

Wednesday- Back and Biceps....again 5 exercises per muscle group 3 sets of 10 per exercise

Friday- Legs and Shoulders...5 exercises per muscle group 3 sets of 10 per exercise

So in all I'm doing 10 exercises per workout day.

He suggested that I'm training wrong... that the norm is 5 days a week Monday through Friday one body part or muscle group per exercise per day. He also mentioned doing arms as one exercise so working the triceps and biceps together. I've always understood to NOT do biceps and triceps together because you want to keep your push/pull exercises apart from each other. I asked him if this would be considered over training and he said no because of the 2 days off at the end of the week. I thought it was bad to train 2 days in a row, and Big A's write up says just that.