advertise1
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

For competing bodybuilder, advanced bbers: How often do you get hurt?

theslime

Registered
I compete at the national level in Canada and am 31 yo. Ive been competing for about 6 years and for the past two years I always seem to get injured. On top of not chronic pain like knee tendonitis or it band syndrome, i get small muscle tears every two or three months like pec tears, quad or hamstring tears, etc. Not necessarily anything surgery worthy but enough to have to lower poundages or stop training the affected area for a few weeks. Am I just getting old or is it part of the game at that level of competition? do you guys just stop training heavy?

getting old , getting too confident , going too hard , false sense of security because of drug use ..Have all hurt me at one time or another ..just learn and move on

Enjoy your 30s while you can. Wait till you get into your 40s like me. Everything aches and hurts. I just have the normal injuries I guess, lower back always messed up. I get tendonitis occasionally, pinched nerves every now and then. Comes with the sport..

Not sure if I would be considered advanced or not, but I've been training hard since I was in my teens. I'm 32 now. Honestly, I'm finding it very difficult to remember the last time I trained without some sort of nagging pain/injury, regardless of severity. Its almost like once you break through a certain threshold, meaning that you go past what most would consider physical limits related to strength and/or size, the injuries just start to pile up and overlap each other. Big or small, it just seems like there is always something for which you are compensating during a workout. Maybe this is normal for us, maybe not. But if it isn't one thing, its another.