advertise1
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Elbow/Shoulder Pain - Work Thru or Rest?

showstopper83

Registered
Took about 6 weeks off lifting due to stuff going on in personal life, first work-out back I was having a ton of discomfort in both my elbows and shoulders to where I couldn't even get through my warm-up set.

Should I just use some icy-hot and ibuprofen to deal with the pain and keep going? Or is it something I need to take more seriously than that?

Already lost more than I wanted to not working out for a month and a half, don't want to fall into a deeper hole. Thanks.

more info

Hey bro, I'm a nurse practitioner specializing in sports medicine so I can possibly give you some advice but need more info. Like is pain completely new? Any previous injuries or nagging pain? Where exactly is pain in joint, what movements make worse. Could be simple tendinitis which is typically caused by "overuse abuse", or could be other more serious things like arthritis, rotator cuff injuries, etc.
P.S. any advice given is only for educational purposes and does not take the place of a doctor's exam/advice

Hey bro, I'm a nurse practitioner specializing in sports medicine so I can possibly give you some advice but need more info. Like is pain completely new? Any previous injuries or nagging pain? Where exactly is pain in joint, what movements make worse. Could be simple tendinitis which is typically caused by "overuse abuse", or could be other more serious things like arthritis, rotator cuff injuries, etc.
P.S. any advice given is only for educational purposes and does not take the place of a doctor's exam/advice

Hey, thanks man. A good friend of mine has a kinesiology degree and worked for years as a physical therapists assistant and he couldn't really give me a straight answer.