mega-banner2
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

here's my other training dilemma, 44 yr old male.

saint808

Registered
here's my scenario essentially.

male: 44 yrs old. ex athlete in high school, wants to work out all 7 days a week. BW is 165 and he wants to puton 30 lbs or so, wants to train 2 sessions with me per week and 5 on his own.

i duno wether to do a split with him or to circuit him first. All i know for sure is if he is only 165 lbs i am keepo his cardio to 3x a week no more than 20 minutes, just so he doesn't put on chub? what you guys think? Can I push this guy a little harder?

if you can't tell i am new to this an a bit nervous.

7 days a week is going to be too much, there's no time for recovery. You'll need to convince him of that. There's not much reason to train more than 4 days each week (excluding cardio). At 165 lbs he can't be terribly overweight, but at 44 yrs his metabolism could have slowed down enough where he can add some fat if his diet isn't 90%-100%.

Are you outlining a diet for him? That to me would be more important for his success than anything.

Good luck with your client.

We need more information. what has he done since highschool? what kind of condition is he in. Has he had a physical? Is he going from nothing to seven days a week?

I am 58 yrs old and have been lifiting off and on for forty years, and going from off to on isn't easy.

FSM