over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Chest Wont Grow

Yeltom

Newbies
I post this in the Beginners Forum, but I'm no beginner to working out. I've been lifting weights for approximately 14 years. Im 30 years old 5'11" and 220lbs at 13%bf.

Over the course of those years I've tried almost everything to grow my chest. I've alternated between barbell and dumbells, tried the german volume training, low reps, high reps, heavy weight, light weight, strict form, chest once per week, chest twice per week, etc...

My shoulders and arm have fast surpassed my chest. The upper part of my chest is okay, its the bottom and outside of my pecs I need work on and it appears genetics is not on my side. My current chest routine is this:

MON:
Chest
Dumbell bench 2 warmups @ 20 reps then 4 sets of 12, 10, 8, 6
Incline Dumbell 4 sets of 12, 10, 8, 6
Decline Bench 3 sets of 10, 8, 6
Flat Flies 3 sets of 10, 10, 10
Dips 3 sets to failure
I work BACK same day as chest.

TUE: Off (cardio)
WED: LEGS & SHOULDERS
THU: Off (cardio)
FRI: ARMS CALVES & ABS

My protein intake is high @ 250 - 300 grams/day. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Way too much volume.. Try something with less volume like Big A's routine or DC training.. You will get stronger and your chest will grow..

You are over-training the everliving she-it out of your chest! No wonder why it wont grow. It would take me two weeks to fully recover from that workout. Less is more. Go DC or Max Hypertrophy (2-4 sets compound & 1-2 sets isolation for each body part, depending on the size of the muscle being worked).

Thanks guys. I really need to switch it up. Should I try the DC routine for all bodyparts? The volume is pretty much the same for all other muscle groups except legs.

Is this Big A's routine? It doesn't seem like my chest would get much of a workout. I'll give it a shot though.

Mon - Chest, Shoulders, Triceps
* Incline press - warm-up sets, 1 work set
* Flat flyes - 1 work set