advertise1
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Just curious ,when people say take in 1and a half times your bodyweight in protein

Ehealthpills

Banned
Does that mean total mass or just muscle,basically
Subtracting bodyfat from your total weight then 1 and half times that.
I have my own philosophy on this matter but would like to hear
What your opinions on this

I'm no expert but in terms of variables it is muscle tissue (x lbs) that requires a certain amount of potein (x grams) for repair therefore protein per lb of lean bodyweight is a more accurate measurement.

If LEAN isn't stated then I'll assume it's your overall bodyweight.

Last edited:
muscle needs protein. fat does not need protein

Measure your bodyfat and multiplie per your total weight, that's your fatty mass.

After that, do: total weight minus fatty mas = lean body mass

And use the LBM to calculate the protein consumption per lb.

1.5 usually is referring to LBM. This is just a guideline as not everyone needs that amount to grow

I know that it is not necessary just always wondered since
People never say lbm x1.5 in protein

Sorry to be off topic but why is ur name a sources site?

lit

Some literature I have seen and is pretty decent

From "Protein requirements and muscle mass/strength changes during intensive training in novice bodybuilders"

"These data indicate that, during the early stages of intensive bodybuilding training, PRO needs are approximately 100% greater than current recommendations but that PROIN increases from 1.35 to 2.62 g.kg-1.day-1 do not enhance muscle mass/strength gains, at least during the 1st mo of training." (That's about 1.19 grams per pound of bw)

**broken link removed**

From "What are the maximum protein requirements of strength athletes?" (Nice meta analysis here):