over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Legs, same start?

cnock

Registered
I always start every leg workout with barbell squats and then i mix up the exercises from week to week after that. Im wondering if my always starting with squats and nothing else is limiting my leg growth or am i getting enough variety?

Yes you need to change it up. If your doing the same thing over and over and not getting any result how can you expect things to change?

why do you mix the exercises up? how do you know if you're progressing on them? i personally do squats last and have been seeing good improvements since doing that. find a routine you like, stick to it for at least 8 weeks and then evaluate whether its working for you. and in addition to that, make sure everything is on point, ie. diet and rest as well. in addition take pictures and measurements. in my head i look exactly the same as i did when i started training seriously about 4 years ago

Last edited:
I think it's smart to chage it up occasionally. I like starting with front squats, but sometimes do walking lunges first.

I always start every leg workout with barbell squats and then i mix up the exercises from week to week after that. Im wondering if my always starting with squats and nothing else is limiting my leg growth or am i getting enough variety?

Have you been able to milk squats for all they're worth? Make progress.... add weight over time?

I always start quads with squats (I train hams and calves on a separate day), but I may mix other things up a little - like switching the order of hacks and leg presses.

But I do the squats first so that I can do them with proper form, intensity, and concentration. If I do them later, I have to use less weight and less intensity. And I find that my form suffers so that I tend to use more butt and lower back than I need to. I also feel this may make me more susceptible to injury.