over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

High Reps

MassMachine

Registered
After reading some posts by Luke Wood over on Milos board i started training with just high reps,12-15. I have had new growth in the past 6 wks that i have not had in 6 months. Being from a power lifters background i was hesitant to use this exclusively.
Does anyone else train with predominately high reps and find better hypertrophy?

MM

I love going to the 12-15 rep range. Its a different type of training. It's awesome how fast your weights go up as well. Things you were doing 6 reps with you all of a sudden start getting for 12 reps. My strength increases quicker by using this type of training as opposed to low reps.

I just began higher reps and volume myself and so far so good.

It helps build the type I fibers (slow twitch) to a greater degree than heavy weights. Unfortunately these fibers are not as responsive to growth potential
as type II fast twitch fibers-so I always go heavy FIRST in my training, then reps. But powertrainers-lifters likely have not developed these fibers much-thus the improvment. :)

Always remember though, just because you are aiming for 15 reps, don't stop there. There have been times when I try to use a weight that I fail at 12 or so, but if I can go higher I will. 22, 23 reps at times.

This is awesome especially for leg presses. I don't like to go 6-8 reps for leg presses because it stresses my knees. I like to drop a couple of plates and go for more reps. For instance I will work my way up in weight and max out at 12-15 reps. This is the ball busting set. Then I go back down. I will drop 2 or 3 plates per side and go for 20 reps. Then drop 2 more plates and go for 30-40 reps to fry them out. Then of course I move on to hack's or leg extensions after that. Of course I don't practice that with my second and third movements, but if leg presses come first then that is what I do.