alfresco

Featured Member / Kilo Klub Member
Staff member
Super Moderators
Featured Member
Kilo Klub Member
Registered
Board Supporter
This is fairly long so go grab a cup of coffee, a glass of LBA's (that's a free plug) a bottle
of beer, or spark up a cigarette, and make yourself comfortable. As is my nature, it
includes some back-story which I think is important to understanding my motivation and
my then current state of mind (insane), but I believe that it will all come together in the end.
At any rate, it was fun to write and I hope it will be equally fun to read.

I was sitting in the hot tub yesterday morning after my 3 hour walk in the woods.
Yes, I know, I have no life, and for some reason I got to thinking about a post in the
Article's Forum by a new member, his first message, in the Growth principles for beginners
section, having to do with forearm training. As a beginner, I like to drop in there now and
again to keep abreast of any recent developments.

And not wanting to piss in Big A's sandbox, I thought (yes, I know what your all thinking
. . . here we go again) it might be beneficial to carry over to this forum; my experiences
with forearm training. While this is clearly not an attempt to answer this individuals question,
Big A could do this far better than I, plus it's his sticky, but I do think that my experiences
might be beneficial if not downright humorous, i. e., the lengths some people, me, will go to
improve a body part.

Many years ago I embarked on a very serious and very strenuous forearm training regimen.
I had just been exposed to rock climbing, and tying to make good use of my reduced
bodyweight as a result of my attempt to be a full time vegetarian, I thought that having more
grip strength would be beneficial to my climbing. And like most things in life when you are
starting out, you think you know what is best, when in retrospect, I had so very much to