over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Is it time to quit?

gettnlarge01

Registered
A little history about me to start. I've been lifting for about 15yrs,the first 10yrs were spent powewrlifting and the last 5yrs have been spent bodybuilding. Due to some problems with my knees and hips I've been wondering if it's time to stop lifting. If I didn't love too lift so much this would be an easy decision for me but I'm beginning to think the constant pain is not worth it anymore. The pain is affecting my ability to do my daily routines and my job. How would you know for sure it's time to let that part of your life go?

pain

I've been lifting the last 20 years with 2 herniated discs in my lower back . My hips hurt most of the time and my elbows ache constantly . I labor for a living to boot . Am I gonna guit working out because of the pain , no . I think it's a personnel decision you will have to make . Or you could try seeking medical advice . Perhaps physical therepy could alleviate some of your symptons . Good luck .

Joe

Looking into pain management now.I've had 3 knee surgeries in the last 3yrs and have one planed for the end of the year.My knees are basicly falling[arthritis,tendons,cartlidge]which have caused alot of inflamation in my hips.The pain is not my biggest issue,the fact that I can't work legs[even light weights on machines]without something tearing or pulling.I've torn an menscius sprinting for only 10ft. My orthopedic wants to wait until I'm 40yrs old before he does a knee replacement.He says the arthritis in my left is considered severe and replacing it to early would cause problems later on.

Take a year off and try some plyometrics and see a good chiroproctor that is familiar with active release (ART). Get some elasticity back into you. You may have to give up the heavy stuff but you can stay limber.

If you can't do that, than I guess it's comfort measures and pain management but that WAAAAAAAAAAYYYY last resort.