advertise1
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Over 40 Guys - Do you schedule off weeks?

triathloncoach

Featured Member / Kilo Klub / Board Supporter
Featured Member
Board Supporter
I'm 46, and have been training for 30 years. I was just thinking that I haven't missed more than 2 consecutive days of working out in more than 14 months. Of course some of my workouts are considerably more intense than others. I'm on HRT and I feel great. But it's probably counter productive not to take a week off from the weights once in a while.

I'm going to Florida for 3 days this weekend and I was trying to locate a local gym when I realized that it's probably better if I just skip the exercise.

Do you guys "Periodize" your workouts for time off? I guess I'm new to DVDs and figured I could just keep marching. I still love going to the gym - or hitting the weights in my basement.

Thanks for sharing your experience.

I'm 46 as well and Ive always taken a week to 10 days off every 8-12 weeks. No training at all just some light walking outside with the wife and stretching everyday. The older ya get the more you need a little break. But I benefited from taking a break way back when I was in my 20's too.

Since getting back in shape 1 year ago, I work out at least 6 days a week, but I am never in the gym more than 50 mins and that includes my cardio(swiming). I am 37 but close to 40. I have a all or nothing personality. Heck, I have been on vacation 4 times in the last year and worked out every day while on vacation. Working out also is like my drug. It keeps me very mellow. I very rarely get mad. I need it.

I'm 45, I used to take a week off every 8 weeks or so but still would hit the weights lightly.

Now I don't plan taking time off. If I feel I need a day off I take it. If something comes up out of the blue that makes me miss a day I look at it as an added day of rest, but that situation rarely comes up since I work out first thing in the morning.