over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

How many total sets per bodypart?

MR.BICEPS

Banned
Ive been training for 28 years and have tried about everything. In the past couple of years I've noticed a trend of very few sets being done by many. For example 5 sets once per week per bodypart.

I have to do a good 10 to 16 sets per week to gain muscle mass with any consistently whatsoever. Yes I have tried the low volume approach but it only worked for a very short period of time and no so good at that.

Am I alone or are there others having to perform 12 to 16 sets once a week per bodypart inorder to grow? I'd like to hear some comments on this subject.

Last edited:
Haven't tried the low volume training I keep hearing about. I do about 12 sets per body part once a week and it works very well for me. I have actually gained 30 lbs over the last few months. As soon as I get stagnant I may switch it up. I just keep hearing a lot of good feed back on this low volume approach. Thats actually a good question....Does anybody still do 12 sets per body part anymore? Example: Legs: 4 sets squats, 4 sets of leg press, 4 sets extensions.

I believe that it's the intensity at which you perform the exercise that yields results more than "sets." Ages ago, when I did "lots of sets," you tend to pace yourself (at least subconsiously) 'cause the body knows the work load that's expected of it.

I've been doing doggcrapp lately and did HST prior to that. While I believe that HST is good, it was just a tad too much load on my joints. This may not be a fair assessment as I was undergoing Prolotherapy at the same time.

I made my best gains of a type of HIT program. So here's my point question(s):
"My" HIT program -
Increase weight for 3 sets, beggining at very light and finishing at high (not quite max effort). Then dropping weight for 3 sets, beggining with a weight I could max for 5 reps, then repping out (to no more than 8 reps) for last set.
DC program -