over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

Rebuilding legs after major injury

bigdog123

Registered
Double quad tendon rupture 14 weeks ago

I'm now back to doing 20kg dumbbell squats for 25-30 reps

physio said take it up 5kg a week so by July I'll be doing 40kg bells

prior to the injury I was squatting 495 for 12 reps .. I don't want to do this again for obvious reasons

can a guy rebuild big legs by using half the previous poundages?

alfresco

Featured Member / Kilo Klub Member
Featured Member
Registered
First; sorry to hear about your injury.

Second; I am not a doctor but I am not short on opinions. Nor am I an ‘expert’ but
some here may have had previous experiences similar to or exactly like yours and we
should welcome their opinions. But no two people will have identical outcomes.
Some will be better and some will be worse.

A tendon reattachment is not like, as strong as, welding two pieces of steel together
so therefore there will be some compromise.

It is not impossible, but highly doubtful that you will be squatting the poundage’s
you were before (you have said that). Rebuild? A resounding yes. yes, but not to
the size or strength using half the poundage’s. While adding reps to a particular
weight / exercise is not a bad thing but there will come a point where muscular
hypertrophy and muscular endurance diverge and you will unavoidably be forced
to make a decision . . . do I add weight or not? You and only you with the guidance
of your doctor can make that decision.

Can your legs improve? Of course they can. Will they look, I am assuming you are
bodybuilder and not a power lifter, as good as they did before? Unlikely. Will they
ever be as strong as before, even if you were interested, again, highly unlikely.
You just don’t see any records set, be it size or strength by people that have had
an injury like yours. But nothing would make me happier than to be proven wrong