advertise1
over 5000 supplements on sale at professional muscle store

How many of you make a living off personal training?

AlphaMaleDawg

Banned
I'm curious how many people here are trainers/gurus for a living. Does being a huge looking bodybuilder give you all the credentials you need to get clients? Of course you need certifications, but I see all these competitive bbers, whether it be IFBB, NPC, or whatever all do personal training to make a living, and appear to be successful. It seems to me that these guys who get huge and compete do well in personal training or contest prep coaching. I would also like to know how they even get started with it. Just curious.

I'm a personal trainer. Have more of a fitness model/men's physique build and I do pretty well. Think about it the pool of bodybuilders is a lot smaller than the pool of dude that just wanna look good on the beach.

You'd have to prob prep a few people for free and build a reputation up first before anyone is willing to pay for prep services.

supply and demand if you are the top traininer at your gym or area and cater to all walks with good inter-personal skills its not unheard of to make a 100k easy

Looking fit will help you get clients. Looking like a bodybuilder will not help you at all and will probably hurt you more than anything. A gym I use to go to I asked the owner if I could work there as a trainer and he said "no you are too big to be a trainer here. People don't want to look like you do". Of course I would never train some one to look like I do (I'm not even all that big right now) if that's not what they want but people assume when you are a bodybuilder that you will make them big like a bodybuilder as well. So if training is what you want to do either find a place that has lots of people that want to be competitive bodybuilders or get leaner and smaller.

Im just getting started and finding it hard to get clients. But when I do there is alot of money to be made.